Hit & Run Accidents in Georgia
The act of hitting or striking a pedestrian, bicyclist, motorist, or another vehicle and then fleeing the scene of the accident is considered a serious crime in Atlanta. Known commonly as a hit and run, conviction of this type of crime can often land an individual in jail and facing hefty fines. No matter how minor the accident may have been, it is always illegal to leave the scene of the accident.
Laws and Penalties for Hit & Run
After an accident has occurred, Georgia Law requires that you stop your vehicle and return to the scene of the collision, and give your name and address, driver’s license, and a list of the vehicle’s occupants. (O.C.G.A. 40-6-270) It is also advised that you get the other driver’s insurance information. You are also required, by law, to assist any injured person in the other vehicle by helping transport them to the hospital or calling an ambulance. If the other party involved was not at the scene of the accident when it occurred (such as hitting a parked car), you must leave a note on the other individual’s vehicle with your contact information and then file a police report. Your next step should be to connect with an Atlanta criminal attorney from my firm who can tenaciously defend your rights.
Leaving the scene of an accident without giving the other party any information is against the law and can result in a felony conviction for hit and run. Whether you have knowingly fled the scene of an accident or done so unintentionally, you should speak with an attorney from our firm. If you are found guilty of hit and run, you could face up to a year in jail, $300-$1,000 in fines, suspension of your driver’s license, and possible forfeiture of your car just for the first offense. In cases where a serious injury or death results from your hit and run, you could also be facing vehicular homicide charges, which carries penalties of up to give years of imprisonment.
For a second offense within a five-year period, you could be fined $600-$1000, and imprisoned for up to a year. A “no contest” plea will still incur the same penalties. For a third offense or more, you will be fined $1000 and possibly put in jail for up to a year.
Get Defense for Your Case from My Firm
In order to find the best possible outcome in your hit and run case, you must consult with a hit and run attorney in Atlanta. At the Law Office of Judy Kim, the professional and seasoned criminal defense legal team is capable of providing clients with the highest quality defense for their hit and run legal matters. With a legal counsel on your side, you can rest assured that your case will be handled with the utmost respect and dignity. Don’t leave your future in the hands of an inexperienced law firm. An aggressive Atlanta criminal defense attorney from The Law Office of Judy Kim, PC will work zealously on finding the best possible outcome for your case.
Contact my firm immediately so we can begin fighting for your rights in court! Call me at my office or fill out a free case evaluation.